The Difference A Year Can Make

Facebook – that purveyor of all things important and relevant – informed me this morning that this was my world last year on this day.

This was my world today.

Snow Feb 2.16

Nope – I’m not complaining.

To all the skiiers out there and to those who just love winter – I’m sorry.   I’ll stop my happy-dance now.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Nature, Outdoor Stuff, Random Stuff, Things I Like and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

88 Responses to The Difference A Year Can Make

  1. I am not a skier. And I don’t particularly like winter, though I love sweaters and snow. So go and happy dance all you want. We actually found snow this weekend and had a blast! 🙂

    Like

  2. Quite a difference Joanne and I know which one I prefer. I may have to start mining Facebook for post ideas. 🙂 ~James

    Like

  3. LB says:

    What a comparison!
    While I am the winter lover, I embrace all weather. Whatever greets me as I walk out the door is just fine by me (unless it’s pouring and I’ve planned an outdoor event!)

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Actually I’m fond of all the seasons for different reasons. Even rain doesn’t normally get me down.
      The length of the winter up here though can really become oppressive after a while. Getting a break like this year feels really good.

      Like

  4. Our snow is on the mountains, just where it should be.

    Like

  5. What a difference, Joanne. We rarely get more than an inch or two of snow out here in Oregon. We miss the snow, but not the shoveling! I love it that the days are getting visibly longer 🙂

    Like

  6. Alex Hurst says:

    That’s pretty different! But it was a pretty warm over here…. was it the same in your area? We had one freak snow day, but otherwise, it’s been fairly mild. Which is super odd for Kyoto.

    Like

  7. charlypriest says:

    You live in the north pole!!

    Like

  8. reocochran says:

    Quite a difference, Joanne! 🙂
    In central Ohio, we have had a very mild winter. Last Saturday, my grandchildren, son and oldest daughter and I went to a large local park. We had so much fun and it was 58 degrees (but windy!) I would not mind if no snow showed up again until December!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’m starting to think of this as a winter vacation, but I could be a bit disturbed if it happens too frequently in subsequent years. Un-normal weather is just … wrong.

      Like

      • reocochran says:

        Un-normal weather is just wrong, truly shows how our global warming is effecting us, Joanne. I also think that snow should start in December and be over by end of January so I am a rather abnormal thinker! There is snow in southern Ohio and part of the north eastern part, too. The middle around Columbus (and my town of Delaware, Ohio) is milder or more moderate usually anyway.
        I hope it doesn’t disturb you too much, don’t lose sleep over this phenomenon, Joanne. Hugs, Robin

        Like

  9. mickscogs says:

    I’m not going to whinge about our Summer as at the moment it is quite beautiful at the moment. and I’m so glad it’s not cold and dark. One day, I would like to see piles of snow like that; but not for days on end. Glad you have a reprieve.

    Like

  10. Rebekah M says:

    Heh! The same reason for my post today! FB! What part of the world are you? I’m in Atlantic Canada …

    Like

  11. Sue Slaght says:

    Wow that is one remarkable difference!

    Like

  12. I’m a bit of a fan of the “one/two/three year/s ago today” posts that pop up from time to time on Facebook. I tend to forget.

    I realise how happy this scene makes you (see, I’m learning to appreciate the challenges) but you have to admit there’s the tiniest bit of concern about that contrast, no? You live in Canada. It’s supposed to snow, isn’t it?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Sigh … I agree that climate change is worrisome and there is a part of me that is concerned about what the impact will be on the summer when the winter is so mild.

      Having said that, last year was so brutal, I’m going to bask in this mildness while I can 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. pscapp says:

    I am ignoring my FB memories even though they ” care” about me. Why should someone else have a better memory of what I’ve done than me.

    Like

  14. Jeff Bell says:

    Not trying to be judgmental here, but do I see Christmas lights still up? Shouldn’t those have been taken down by now?

    Like

  15. Mrs. P says:

    Nice to know that I can always stop by for a good early morning laugh! 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I’m with you. It’s not the fresh snow I mind, but the disgusting grey slush and the icy pavements that inevitably follow. None of that where I live now 🙂

    Like

  17. The weather all over the globe is very strange – we put it down to El Nino and his far reaching desire to shake things up. I would be happy not to have all that snow too, and I’d be happy dancing with you.

    Like

  18. I hear ya, sister, but my world is about RAIN!!!!! …. Soon… sometime soon, it WILL be sun… 🙂

    Like

  19. Tippy Gnu says:

    I hope you don’t get out of shape from not shoveling snow.

    Like

  20. It’s warm here, muddy and it’s raining.
    The tulips are coming out and it looks like winter is over. Normally I am thrilled when I see them, but not so much this year. It’s kinda like winter is missing. I don’t like tons of snow either, but at least some kind of winter. OK I am walking away with my head held low so nobody can beat me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Yep, I must admit, even I the great snow lover am happy happy this winter. I needed an easy one!

    Like

  22. NancyTex says:

    No complaints here. 🙂 (That said, I’m off to Vegas Friday and thru the balance of February…just in case.)

    Like

  23. de Wets Wild says:

    I’m with you Joanne, I’m not a winter person. Not that our winters can even be compared to what you have to endure!

    Like

  24. Last year was pretty brutal. I don’t think there’s really too much to apologize about.

    Like

  25. jan says:

    Be happy! Next year isn’t promised. : )

    Like

  26. Wow! The snow looks pretty (I know, easily said by someone who doesn’t have to live through it), but I with you on preferring the warmer weather.

    Like

  27. Ok, I won’t tell you I’m reading Naomi Klein’s book on climate change and let you enjoy your happy dance!!

    Like

  28. bikerchick57 says:

    I had a hard time liking this post given today’s snow event here. Could you send some of that green grass my way?

    Like

  29. Paardje says:

    Wow, what a huge difference indeed!

    Like

  30. I’m so thankful we’re dealing with a mild winter. Last year totally sucked with all the snow. Okay, I’ll stop grinning now. 😀

    Like

  31. Lynn says:

    Unbelievable!

    Like

  32. C.E.Robinson says:

    Geez…really? I wouldn’t complain either! HappyDance on! ☺️Elizabeth

    Like

  33. I have to admit when I got my posting from a year ago on FB I was surprised and it really took me back, it was kind of a special event.

    Like

  34. B-r-r. Really? On both counts. Google did that? 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

