A Weird Winter Day

Temperatures have dropped into the bone-chilling range, and we’ve been getting intermittant snow flurries all afternoon.

It has been an unpredictable day of snow squalls one minute ….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…. then bursting sunshine 20 minutes later.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA… back to blowing snow ….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

… then it gets confused and doesn’t quite know what to do.  It’s still snowing, but the sky has cleared.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yes, it’s been a weird weather day and for reasons I don’t understand, it makes me smile.

Welcome to winter in Canada.

This post was inspired by Trent’s World Weekly Smile.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Nature, Outdoor Stuff, Random Stuff, Weekly Smile and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

95 Responses to A Weird Winter Day

  1. nikisthoughts says:

    This looks a lot like our winter here in upstate New York. Brrrrr! Stay warm!

    Like

  2. reocochran says:

    Well, weird makes me smile! Sometimes it is just the fact that life is good and as long as you don’t have to dig yourself out of snow, I am okay with winter. Smiling back. Happy ♡ day, Joanne!
    p.s. Did you see my Sunshine Blogger’s Award post? I included you since I put my “newer” friends on it. I think it was Thursday and says all things bright and beautiful. 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      There are some *weirds* that are easier to take than others and an erratic weather day isn’t so bad in the grand scheme of things 🙂
      … and on this Valentine’s Day we have frigidly cold but brilliant sunshine!
      Hope you have a day full of the people and things you love the most.

      I have not seen your Sunshine Blogger’s post. I will need to go looking for it now!!

      Like

  3. beeblu says:

    Perhaps the earth is swinging around its poles. 😄

    Like

  4. We are feeling the rath of February with rain the showers then down pours. I wouldn’t trade it for the snow but I am getting a bit sick of it.

    Like

  5. LB says:

    Those bursts of sun bring hope that warmer times will indeed come … someday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I feel your pain😳-29 this morning with a wind chill of -40 ! This too will pass…we hope.

    Like

  7. Alex Hurst says:

    Oh no! I guess you spoke too soon last week about the lack of snow, haha. Winter’s trying to show you it still has some clout left. 😛

    Like

  8. We had the same yesterday. I minute I couldn’t see driving and wished I’d stayed home and then the weather made me a liar and smiled with a glowing, sunlit smile, fluffy snow stopped. Today, the forecast promises -16 H / -23 L, sun and cloud. This is February after all. Maybe I’ve just been spoiled. Thanks for the photos and Happy Valentine’s Day, Joanne. ❤ ❤

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Well, the one thing that comes with this extreme cold is the brilliant sunshine. With my kitchen awash in rainbows, I’m not going to complain 🙂
      Have a great weekend Tess and Happy V-Day to you too!

      Like

      • Thank you, Joanne and Happy V-Day to you as well.
        A couple minutes ago I read someone reading a 1911 Christmas card with a notation it was a green Christmas. Hmm. Interesting, isn’t it?

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          I think there’s always been weird weather years, but the problem is that the extremes are being greater and occurring more frequently.
          I think in our little corner of the world, we haven’t yet seen those same extremities.

          Like

  9. Same here in Ireland, except we can get all four seasons in one day. Wind, sun, rain and hail – never boring but it means you have to layer up with your clothing when going for a walk, especially waterproof, 😦

    Like

  10. hilarymb says:

    Hi Joanne – the weather has been strange, yet on looking back through the records … nothing really unusual. Take care – just stops us in our tracks when it snows and freezes up … we thought we might have snow this weekend – but hopefully it will stay away. Wrap up warm and have a happy time – Cheers Hilary

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      You’re right. I should not be surprised. February = snow + cold. It’s a very simple equation and has worked for a few millennium 😉
      Hope you have a great weekend. Stay warm 🙂

      Like

  11. mickscogs says:

    Went for first swim in the Bay today. Top Autumny late Summer weather here. I would like to experience big snow once in my life though.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Well, we’re now officially buried down here with a couple feet of snow on the ground and more coming in tonight…..and it’s freaking cold. But we also had that weird sunny part in the middle of the day. Just enough time to clear the drive and walks!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It’s a blistering cold one this morning and we had one of those nights when the house cracked and banged all night. It’s kind of creepy because as the house creaks and groans in the cold, it can sound like intruders rummaging around.
      This will be a great weekend to stay indoors!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Rebekah M says:

    Yesterday was a weird weather day for us. We were supposed to have flurries in the morning, and that was about it. Only thing was, we got flurries all day long — with intermittent squalls. It turned out a full snow day.

    Like

  14. Purpleanais says:

    I am so jealous of your winter in Canada. I miss the snow so much, it sounds ridiculous but I really do. I am actually salivating in front of your pics 😀

    Like

  15. We used to have days like that in Norther Vermont – which is pretty close to Canada 🙂 🙂 I like the unpredictability of weather. The blue skies are beautiful. I hope it warms up for you soon!

    Like

  16. Mrs. P says:

    That’s what happens here in Florida all the time…except ours is rain instead of snow…so when the ground dries it hides all evidence of nasty weather. I think I would enjoy the snow if it was sunny, too.

    Like

  17. Life, and the weather, is an adventure!

    Like

  18. You’re right, it’s very strange weather. It’s supposed to drop in temperature so stay warm tomorrow, Joanne! 🙂

    Like

  19. bikerchick57 says:

    It is bone-chillling cold here today and tomorrow will be colder still. No snow squalls, just below zero wind chills. Brrrrrr. Are we done with winter yet?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      We’re expecting record breaking temperatures over the next 24 hours. Brrrrr, is right!! I’m planning to stay home where it’s safe and warm
      …. although we are having a major blizzard right now so it looks like shovelling snow is in my near future.

      Liked by 1 person

  20. I could be cruel and tell you it’s been close to 90 degrees here the past few days but I would never do that to you.

    Like

  21. Joe says:

    We should be getting that bone chilling weather tomorrow Joanne 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Mother Nature has finally clued in that it is February and she is supposed to turn down the thermostat.
      We’re bracing for a frigid one this weekend. In the meantime, we’re getting dumped on big time. Yay. {she says half-heartedly}

      Like

  22. jan says:

    Brrr! Stay warm – if possible.

    Like

  23. Guess what? We have snow too, not much but more in the forecast. We had the same weather today, it was snowing and 30 minutes later it was sunny, bright and clear. I love your back yard 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Sue Slaght says:

    Looks like Calgary weather Joanne. Always best to have an umbrella and snow scraper in the car all year round. 🙂

    Like

  25. So, snow one minute and sunshine the next? That’s all? No, no, no. If you’re going to have weird weather, you have to start with 40C, then it starts bucketing rain, then it drops to 16C and then the sun comes out. Four seasons in one day. Hey, great title for a song. 😀

    Like

  26. trentpmcd says:

    I’m glad you’re smiling about your weather, I’m scratching my head about ours 😉 Wednesday and Thursday were like that, flurries all day with splotches of sun. Today is frigid and it’s going to get even worse the next couple of days, like -10 F/-23 C, but then it will warm up and rain next week. Weird winter all around! Besides the weird weather day, I hope you are doing good and have a great weekend! Thanks for the smile.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Trent. Like you, we are expecting some seriously cold temperatures over the next 24-48 hours … record breaking temperatures around -35C /-31F.
      There is actually a Frost Quake *warning* http://www.citynews.ca/2016/02/11/rare-frost-quake-watch-issued-for-gta/
      Personally, I’m actually quite excited because I think Frost Quakes are amazing. I remember them well as a kid growing up in Northern Ontario.

      Stay warm and hope you have a great weekend too 🙂

      Like

      • trentpmcd says:

        Wow, that’s cold! Actually, I lied 😉 The temps I was talking about are back “home” in New Hampshire but I decided to spend the weekend on Cape Cod were we’ll hit about 0 F. I haven’t decided if I’m going to risk the early morning walk on the beach in the frigid weather or not… I did a few times last year.
        Stay warm!

        Like

  27. Lynn says:

    A very strange weather day indeed! Stay warm, temperatures are supposed to plummet overnight 😬

    Like

  28. Mama Cormier says:

    Here in the west end we haven’t received any of the snow. Funny how we can live in the same city and have such different weather.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      One of my dearest friends lives quite close to me on the south side of the 401. I’m on the north side.
      It’s not unusual for us to have snow, but she doesn’t.

      … and my son coming up from downtown says the seasons can be quite different!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

