V = Vignettes

A vignette is a brief but powerful scene. A good vignette leaves you wanting more. 
…. from vocabulary.com

Rather than choosing one city for the letter V, I’ve selected a  vignette from 3 different cities.  No story, no commentary, just 3 vintage photos that I hope are good enough to speak for themselves.

2000 Vancouver, Canada

V = Vancouver, Capolano Bridge

Vertigo on the Capilano Bridge

1997 Versailles, France

V = Versaille

Vast extravagance

1997 Venice, Italy

V = Venice2

Visiting by vaporeto (ferry)

V

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2016, Memories, photography, Random Stuff, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to V = Vignettes

  1. LB says:

    Vancouver is a dream destination for me! And that bridge … did you go over it???

    Like

  2. reocochran says:

    I like your 3 “V” locations in vignette form, Joanne. Versailles ceiling is simple ethereal, Vancouver bridge amazing and frightening a little and Venice would be so romantic to share with someone special.
    p.s. My good single friend, Anna, joined all kinds of dating sites when I did 4 years ago. She stuck with it and she got engaged and is moving away. So, I joined again. . . shh-h!

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      {whispering} then I wish you the best of luck!

      Liked by 1 person

      • reocochran says:

        I am never too old but I kept wishing for a referral date from a brother or friend, Joanne. There are only a few hopeful people who wish like I do for the accidental party where our eyes meet “across a crowded room” like in South Pacific. 🙂

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          Yeaaaaah – I think that only happens in the movies, right?
          Mine was an accidental meeting through friends. Does that count?

          So many of my friends and family have met their partner through on-line dating. They seem almost embarrassed by it, but wow – how they found each other doesn’t really matter.

          Like

  3. treerabold says:

    Wonderful choices

    Like

  4. Dan Antion says:

    Love that bridge!

    Like

  5. Kathe W. says:

    I would have vertigo also! LOvely images!

    Like

  6. germac4 says:

    We are going to Venice very soon so I loved that photo of course!

    Like

  7. Chez Shea says:

    Each picture tells a different story, but I am particularly drawn to the bridge.

    Like

  8. Barbed Words says:

    Great pics! I’m going to be biased but the Venice one is my favourite 🙂 Not sure I’d be able to cope with the Capitano Bridge – scary!

    Like

  9. Sue Slaght says:

    Oh three very lovely V locations and all so different. Which to choose?? I pick them all. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. You know I love that bridge!

    Like

  11. Oh yes, loud and clear! I would have thought ‘V’ would be a tough letter but here you are, unable to choose just one!

    Like

  12. Venice…I miss this beautiful city. I think it might be time to sit down and make some serious vacation plans. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. bikerchick57 says:

    What is that beautiful place in Versailles? Stunning!

    Like

  14. joey says:

    Lovely choices for V! We use “vignette” for so many types of art, it’s important to remember how loosely we throw the word around! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. RuthsArc says:

    Very clever V and three interesting places 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Rebekah M says:

    Can’t believe you’ve already gotten to V. Good idea, about vignette. They have a similar bridge here, on the Fundy Parkway … on a much smaller scale, though. I’ve never been to any of these places, but my husband could easily do an A-Z thing like you’ve done here.

    Like

  17. I’ve never been any of those places.. Yesterday I went out and stole those flowers that we talked about. Hopefully the bed in our backyard will be blue next spring.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Oh, I think I’m going to skip that bridge….I know this will surprise you! 🙂 This was a great way to go with V though…..love it!

    Like

  19. Clever use of V. Well done. But, oh oh oh! That bridge!! My bouncing feet are just itching to dance across that one! Is it bouncy? Is it?? Is it?? Please tell me it’s bouncy!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Corina says:

    A wonderful vignette!

    Like

  21. terryb says:

    Wow, that’s some bridge! Vertigo – I can just imagine!
    Great Shots!

    Like

Leave a Reply

