Having The Last Word

Cemeteries are peaceful and calm oases chock full of local history and stories of people long gone.

One can also find a smile.

Necropolis5

Necropolis4

Necropolis3

Found today at the Necropolis – one of the oldest cemeteries in Toronto.

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Around Toronto, Attitude, Memories, photography, Things I Like and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Having The Last Word

  1. boristoronto says:

    Some people are clever and witty even after then end. I think I should think about it for the future. What sort of wit could I like to leave behind.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LB says:

    Now I’m thinking … although I don’t plan to be buried ….
    Hmmmm …

    Like

  3. reocochran says:

    Joanne, your find in Toronto in the Necropolis was fascinating. I stop all over the states I am in, looking at local cemeteries. I particularly enjoy older cemeteries. 🙂 I actually have had two cemeteries in my blogs, whichI return to. The newest one, I found some revolutionary war heroes buried there.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Graves dating back to the revolution would be very old. What was the condition of the graves.
      I don’t know whether it’s our weather, or the quality of particular stones, but I found many of the older ones have not fared well over the years. Some are now unreadable which is rather sad.

      Liked by 1 person

      • reocochran says:

        There were several split stones but this is a vault and may have transferred a revolutionary soldier into this location, Joanne. I have this scheduled near end of the month. I try with busy work schedule to write ahead over weekends on my posts.
        Many have those brass stars with the Revolutionary War, plus “DAR.” (You and I know are Daughters of American Revolution but in case someone doesn’t will help inform them.)

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Suvi says:

    Wow what great finds! Love the last one.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Thursday Doors: The AfterLife | My Life Lived Full

  6. Some nice last words! And true.. there is something about cemeteries… lives of once upon a time! So many stories buried underground…

    Like

  7. Heyjude says:

    What wonderful finds! I love finding stuff like this on headstones, and yes, they did make me smile. I may just have to go plant a tree now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Peta Kaplan says:

    These do make me smile…

    There us an amazingly beautiful cemetry in the center of Buenos Aires, (with many intricate sculptures) and a beautiful one in Granada, Nicaragua.

    Peta

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Now I want to put instructions in my will about my headstone. Maybe “Go eat chocolate”.

    Like

  10. nrhatch says:

    What a great way to have the last word!

    Like

  11. They’re also great places to go birding! Who knew right? 🙂 Thanks for the smiles this morning!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Oh the birds!! There was one particular grave that had dozens of little birds chirping about it. As we got closer I realized that there was a small bird feeder there beside the stone.
      Yup! It was another smile 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. These are great – not often you look at a strangers headstone and think ‘I’d like
    to have known them’!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      That’s a great point. I thought the statements were a commentary on the personality of the individual. If that’s true – of course I would have liked to have known them 🙂

      Like

  13. Lynn says:

    Love this Joanne! Although I have instructed my loved ones to just toss my ashes to the wind, if one is going to have a headstone, I love the idea of leaving a sassy saying of some sort!

    Like

  14. 🙂 They knew how to live, eh? Thank you for posting that.

    Like

  15. Dan Antion says:

    How nice of them to leave us with a permanent reason to smile. I’ve been trying to share a bit of good news or happy news each day, for a friend. I’m going to use this post today 🙂

    Like

  16. These three folks are making us smile from beyond. 🙂 Great ideas. The best one I ever saw was “We always had Paris” and you can envision some extremely romantic trip.

    Like

  17. Ruth says:

    Makes me want to see if I can find anything interesting on any of the local gravestones here… 🙂

    Like

  18. Su Leslie says:

    If I thought URLs would endure, I’d have the link to my family tree put on a headstone for any genealogists who were interested. 🙂

    Like

  19. Sue Slaght says:

    I love that Joanne! Go plant a tree. So interesting what one can find in a cemetery.

    Like

  20. bikerchick57 says:

    They all had too short of a life, but it probably was a happy one. Love Farokh’s sense of humor if he was the one who told us to plant a tree.

    Like

  21. As you know, I love cemeteries too. So beautiful and peaceful, and often so full of history. I know you had been wanting to go to this one for awhile, and I can see why. My favorite cemetery of all is the one we visited in Cuba. You would be in heaven there (no pun intended).

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I am now so curious to visit Cuba, if only to see this great cemetery.

      This particular cemetery is a bit of a time capsule of the history of Toronto. In fact, we discovered that an actual time capsule had been created and buried here in 2000 for the 150th anniversary of the cemetery.

      Liked by 1 person

  22. joey says:

    I really love these. Brilliant. What a clever addition to a grave!

    Like

  23. Tippy Gnu says:

    Is it door day, today? In a sense, I think gravestones are like doors.

    Like

  24. Very cool, and what a clever title for your blog.

    Like

  25. Norm 2.0 says:

    I never thought about doing anything like that for my gravestone but it’s such a wonderful idea I’ll have to come up with something 👍👍

    Like

  26. DailyMusings says:

    Such wonderful inscriptions- and we were channeling one another today for sure. A heart feels a heart I always say ❤

    Like

  27. Whatever gets put on my gravestone.. It will have to beat them all! These are pretty good!

    Like

  28. “Go plant a tree,” that made me smile. Thank you~!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

