Changing Seasons: August Summer Glory

No story this time … just photos from this month.  My summer hasn’t been an entire pity party – there’s been a lot of beauty experienced.  Click on any photo in each section to enlarge and scroll through.

From the plants growing wild in my backyard …

To the splendor of Northern Ontario in my home town of Cochrane …

To a hot and sunny day in the heart of Toronto …

This has been my August.  I hope your’s has been full of beauty too.

Changing Seasons is a monthly photo feature hosted by Cardinal Guzman.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Nature, Outdoor Stuff, photography, Random Stuff, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to Changing Seasons: August Summer Glory

  1. Looks like you’ve had a nice August month.

    Like

  2. Was that a real bird in the fountain at St. James Park beating the heat? I hope so. 🙂 The little red bridge in the lake, and landscape composition you made of the lake and bandstand are my favorites. You had a beautiful August!

    Like

  3. boristoronto says:

    Truly wonderful photos.

    Like

  4. Peta Kaplan says:

    I really like the photo of the grass in your backyard. I love the use of prairie plants in yards. The old bell tower is impressive too. Never been to Ontario but looks like a good place to visit. Hard to believe that summer is about over already….

    Peta

    Like

  5. AYR says:

    Some very nice sites as well as photos

    Like

  6. reocochran says:

    The orange flowers, red variegated leaves, gazebo, stone tower with vines and the glorious day with the bridge with red railings all touched me and made me happy, Joanne.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Heyjude says:

    August has been an odd month here too for me. I haven’t really been anywhere except for the supermarket. It’s very busy with holiday-makers and I have been content to stay at home and enjoy my garden for the first summer. Now getting itchy feet though and desperate for a walk on the beach. Already the sun us setting around 8:30 pm and I feel as though summer is slipping away. I want more. Or is that being greedy?

    Like

  8. bikerchick57 says:

    Those are lovely photos, Joanne. I’m fond of the coleus growing in your back yard, since I also have it growing on the patio. They are doing really well this summer.

    It seems like August has flown by, which makes me sad. I don’t want to see summer go away. I never want to see summer go away. It’s especially bad when the maple trees behind our office are starting to turn red…actually they started the end of July. I don’t know what’s up with that.

    Enjoy the rest of the month and let’s hope we have a really nice autumn.

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      It’s interesting how some plants have been really thriving with the heat this summer, and others haven’t. This is the biggest I’ve seen the coleus grow in this corner so obviously they like the heat.

      I’m happy to see the changing weather – cooler nights especially. It makes it much nicer to be outside doing stuff.
      Hope we have a great autumn too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. The photos are beautiful, and such fun; I love small town life.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sue Slaght says:

    Lots of beauty to be had here that’s for sure Joanne. You would be totally entitle to a pity party but good for you to see some shining stars in the midst of it.
    I wondered if you had ever considered going on the trip and not cycling? Perhaps that would just be too hard to be there an not be able to ride?

    Like

  11. Pingback: The Changing Seasons: August 2016 – Cardinal Guzman

  12. This is what I really love about you, MoJo…..that even when you’re down you can still find beauty and realize that there are still things to be enjoyed! I do hope that neighbour comes through with homemade wine….sounds like a perfect gift for a girl recovering from such a devastating injury (see how I showed you how to play that sympathy card there…..take note!) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      hahaha!! You’re doing an excellent job on the sympathy play 🙂

      I’m going to have to talk to my neighbour one of these days and find out what she does with those grapes. They don’t strike me as the wine-making kind.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Dan Antion says:

    Great looking August, Joanne. I really like the tower, the little bridge and the grapes.

    Like

  14. Lovely photos, Joanne. I’m partial to Rapunzel’s tower 🙂 Your garden is beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. klara says:

    looks like a nice summer. you have a beautiful garden.

    Like

  16. jan says:

    Lovely! We haven’t done much this August because of all the fires in the area. Practically every day has been a Spare the Air day. Talk about pity party!

    Like

  17. joey says:

    Wonderful photos! I love your grapes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Hello St. Lawrence Market! It’s nice to recognize something in your photos. 😄 Your plants look like they are happy in the heat.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I love it when someone posts a photo and I recognize it from my travels! Glad I could oblige you 🙂

      It’s so weird how some plants seem to have thrived in this heat while others are a wilty, brown mess.

      Liked by 1 person

  19. nrhatch says:

    We can only live happily-ever-after on a moment by moment basis. Glad you found some moments to ENJOY this summer!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Great garden shots – it was such a dry and hot summer! Glad you enjoyed staying closer to home. We have had fun on most of our hikes in spite of the extreme heat – just surviving after sweating that much brings a special exhilaration!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      The two of you were so smart to keep your hikes relatively short in the heat. It gave you a chance to actually enjoy them in spite of the sweat-fest.

      In looking at my yard, it is so interesting that some plants did very well in the heat, while others are burnt and shriveled in spite of my attempts at regular watering!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes it’s interesting that even the drought tolerant ones – like coneflowers – faded early because they couldn’t take the heat. Guess they were never meant for the tropics – me neither!

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          This has definitely been a summer for the record books. As much as this summer’s heat has been oppressive at times, I’m starting to savour every minute now … ever since the Farmer’s Almanac forecast for this winter surfaced. If the rumours are true, it’s going to be a rough one.

          Like

  21. These are quite lovely, and well taken.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Looks like a beautiful August in a beautiful country. Not ready for summer to be over in SW France, despite the lack of rain and the heat, Ijust wish it would continue, another month or two at least!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Last week I was starting to feel ‘over it’ about the heat and humidity we’ve uncharacteristically had since mid-May.
      Then I remembered how short summer really is and I should be reveling in each and every day. Already the evenings are much cooler and winter will be here before we know it!

      Like

  23. Nice pictures – I love the hidden gnome in your garden. Northern Ontario looks beautiful! Karen

    Like

  24. Lovely pictures. It has indeed been a great summer weather wise…I do know Cochrane having lived in Abitibi…(Suzanne)

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Suzanne.
      Like most Northern Ontario towns, Cochrane is a blink-or-you’ll-miss-it kind of place, but it is my home town and therefore I have a special attraction to it 🙂

      Like

  25. August looks lovely. I enjoyed your summer pictures. I love your backyard; it​ looks like a place with the right vibe. I would feel comfortable.

    Like

  26. You know, I’ll concede it does look hot in Toronto. It has that slightly scorched colour to it. Cochrane looks so pretty. I had to go look up “band shell”, though, because I don’t think I’ve ever heard that before. We would call that a bandstand.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It’s a funny thing. They are called band stands here too, but until I wrote this post and automatically started to write “band shell”, I never considered it odd that in Cochrane we always called it the ‘band shell’. Go figure.

      Liked by 1 person

  27. Tippy Gnu says:

    Love the photos. Ontario looks like a beautiful place, to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

