A House, A School, and the Law Society

As I was poking around in my photo library, I realized I have been hoarding doors – for no particular reason, it’s just that I’ve been downtown a lot lately and that usually means seeing a lot of great old buildings.

The doors have started to pile up and I guess it’s time to share some of them.  So this is just another random offering of great doors I’ve encountered in the last few weeks.

First up is a gate at Osgoode Hall, a building which dates back to 1829.  Osgoode Hall currently houses, among other things, the Ontario Court of Appeal and the offices of the Law Society of Upper Canada (ie Ontario).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The gates are actually very narrow to pass through.  According to Wikipedia, there is a long-standing myth that the gates were designed to keep wandering livestock off the property.  Apparently in the 1950s, some students challenged the myth by trying to pass a cow through one of the gates … but they failed.   I’m not surprised.

Next on the tour, is the St Michael’s Choir School.  I discovered this building quite by accident and simply loved everything about it … from the gorgeous entryway, to the clock on the mini-tower, and the *crown* of crosses.

st-michaels-choir-school

St Michael’s Choir School is a Catholic all-boy’s school which offers both a music and academic program.  Getting your child accepted to St Mike’s is not easy.  Admission is by audition only.

Lastly on today’s tour is a pair of doors from a row of old homes built in the late 1800s. The slightly curving stone stairs were the first thing to catch my attention, but these wooden doors are wonderful, even if they are very weathered.  It looks like the bottom panels need attention before they become unsalvageable.

doors-sherbourne

Sadly, in this neighbourhood there were several old heritage homes that have become quite derelict.  They are sitting on prime real estate and I fear that in a year from now, they will be gone.

Ok – I lied, one more door … this is from one of the derelict buildings which was all boarded up with a barrier installed at the bottom of the stairs to prevent access to the door.

doors-sherbourne-derelict-bldg

This door is lovely and I hope it will be saved.

Thursday Doors is a weekly feature hosted by Norm Frampton at Norm 2.0.

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Around Toronto, Photo Challenges, Random Stuff, Things I Like, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

81 Responses to A House, A School, and the Law Society

  1. Donna says:

    Fabulous photos, Joanne – I am totally jealous that you live in a place where gorgeous, interesting and diverse non-Home-Hardware-Doors are in abundance. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Joanne Sisco says:

      This is a newly found discovery and I’m enjoying it so much. There is so much to enjoy here that I’ve never appreciated before now … even some of the more interesting Home Hardware kind of doors 😉

      Like

  2. Mrs. P says:

    Love the gates…hoarding pictures is acceptable…just don’t hoard other stuff. 😉

    Like

  3. Purpleanais says:

    So much history! I love it 🙂

    Like

  4. prior.. says:

    I like them all and the 4th one I hope gets saved too! I also like the angle of the double doors !

    Like

  5. I think it’s the collection of these doors together that works so well. I am a sucker for gorgeous old doors with character!
    Peta

    Like

  6. These are wonderful doors, Joanne. You’re inspiring me to start looking for – and perhaps photographing – interesting doors! 🙂

    Susan A Eames at
    Travel, Fiction and Photos

    Like

  7. Sue Slaght says:

    I cant help but giggle at the thought of the cow jammed in those beautiful gates. Oh the mooing must have been incredible.
    So envious of that beautiful vine growth. Not happening here in Calgary that’s for sure. Too cold and too dry I think.

    Like

    • Joanne Sisco says:

      Really? You don’t any kind of creeping ivy in Calgary? Even in summer?

      I can’t help think that the cow story is urban legend … I mean, it doesn’t take a genius to see the gates are impossibly narrow. However, I don’t underestimate the power of alcohol 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I too like the ivy on the St. Michael’s building, very pretty. But the old doors caught my eye, especially the mail slots. My grandparents had doors like that, so cool. Today’s doors and buildings just don’t have the same type of character as these old buildings – thanks for sharing.

    Like

  9. reocochran says:

    I like this random but beautiful doors collection, Joanne! They are so interesting and I think about the stories these doors could tell. The boys choir church building was so decorative and seasonal with fall foliage of ivy!

    Of course, the gates to the legal buildings are ones who must stay “mum” unless the stories went in the newspaper coverage! 😉

    Like

  10. Boy, I know this is a post about doors and SHAME ON YOU FOR HOARDING THESE MAGNIFICENT SPECIMENS!!! But………that ivy on St. Mike’s in multiple colours and that half-round staircase……I can see why you just liked everything about it!

    Like

  11. joey says:

    Gorgeous! I really love 286 & 288 — but this time of year had to be the best time to capture them — the leaves on the stone, ooh! So pretty!

    Like

  12. DailyMusings says:

    Wonderful doors and scenery!

    Like

  13. St. Michael’s is lovely with those beautiful doors and ivy climbing all over the bricks. The gate is stunning. The image in my head of mooing cow stuck in one of those gates is funny.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I like the doors, but those gates in the first shot are the best to me, Joanne.

    janet

    Like

  15. Dan Antion says:

    The gates are are really attractive. I’m trying to imagine them with with a cow stuck in them. The doors are beautiful, but the bottom ones do make me a little sad. The appear to be at a point where they can still be saved, but I fear that you are right. I think I like the Choir School doors the best..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Joanne Sisco says:

      The houses being left to slowly deteriorate are really sad. I appreciate that the land is very valuable and I can’t help but think it will be just a matter of time before the developers move in 😦
      I hope that lovely door gets a new lease on life.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Vicky says:

    Great doors & gates. I think a “Save the door” stance on the last one is needed, it’s gorgeous!

    Like

  17. I love the first shot. I love wrought iron doors and screens. Interesting background about the lifestock. Great shot!

    Like

  18. Beautiful architecture and doors. 🙂 That shot of St. Michaels is awesome. The ivy, the brick, the crosses, and carved details…. gorgeous. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  19. Tippy Gnu says:

    I love seeing ivy growing on the walls of buildings. I guess that’s what you’d call an “ivy league” school.

    Like

  20. Joe says:

    Great images Joanne 🙂 The first thing I notice about any sort of building are its doors. Don’t ask me why but I do (maybe its because they are at eye level). Doors have so much character, sometimes more than the building.

    Like

  21. Excellent doors and photos, I especially love the second one, everything comes together so well. And the third is pretty too, and salvageable, I’m sure.

    Like

    • Joanne Sisco says:

      I like to think battered old doors can be saved. Our climate is so harsh though, I’m aware that these old doors are likely not very energy efficient. My romantic side tends to be at conflict with my practical side 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  22. jan says:

    Poor cow! I hope he/she buried those kid’s feet in dung!

    Like

  23. Beautiful doors! I’m so glad that none of them was defaced with a large sign. Poor cow… alcohol, students, and animals… never a good combination.

    Like

  24. What a great compilation and… what were you waiting for? Always another door, right? I like the ones that were made narrow so no livestock could fit through although I’m surprised some aren’t complaining that they are not PC.

    Like

  25. How sad to see such a beautiful old building boarded up. Those gates are very impressive, though. I love the story about the students and the cow.

    Like

    • Joanne Sisco says:

      I’d like to know how much alcohol was involved in their decision making 😉 Those gates are REALLY narrow … I can’t imagine trying to get even a tiny cow through there.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lol! Students are terrible once they have a bit of alcohol. In our local secondary/high school one year, some students having drunk way too much on their graduation night thought it would be fun to rob a sheep out of a nearby field and tie it up on a metal sculpture at the school entrance. I’m sure the sheep didn’t find it a bit amusing. Someone heard it bleating and alerted the police. It was dangling about six feet up but seemed okay after it was released, poor thing. (And that’s not a yarn I’m spinning you, Joanne).

        Like

  26. Ally Bean says:

    Old wood doors have so much character, like there’s a story within the door that with a gentle nudge will come spilling out onto the steps. Beautiful photos.

    Like

    • Joanne Sisco says:

      Thanks Ally 🙂
      In our climate, a good well-sealed door is a must. I can’t imagine that these old doors are very airtight against the cold … but they look so inviting.
      I agree about the stories within the doors … so many people have crossed those thresholds!

      Like

  27. What a beautiful collection of doors. I really like the narrow gates, so much detail. The poor cow! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  28. I had no idea I’d find doors so interesting. Thank you for sharing. You’ve posted many wonderful door. The narrow entranceway (gorgeous) and the last door are my favorites. 🙂

    Like

    • Joanne Sisco says:

      Thanks Tess. Since I started to participate in Norm’s Thursday Doors, I’m noticing doors and entrance ways much more. There really is a lot of very interesting and beautiful craftsmanship in the old architecture.

      Like

  29. nrhatch says:

    Good pics! Best of luck on your surgery Monday (or whenever they can fit you in) . . . and speedy recovery.

    Like

  30. Lynn says:

    Oh my, I wish I could have been there to witness those students trying to get a cow through those gates!

    Like

  31. Phil Ryan says:

    Oh wow! I went to St Mick’s, although missing ‘choir’ from it’s title it was a catholic all boys school once run by Jesuits. No need for auditions by the time I got there but one of our old boys was the late Jake Thackray. Not sure how well known he is further afield but I think you’ll grin at this Joanne…

    (Apologies if your contingent of sister readers are offended)

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Norm 2.0 says:

    Your St-Michael’s shot is waay better than mine, which is probably why I haven’t posts those shots yet – I don’t like them 😀
    That last one is wonderful too – I do hope they can save it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

