An Assortment of Doors

It’s another helping of random doors for today’s Thursday Doors.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Little Italy – Toronto 2015.  This door is battered, but the rings as door handles caught my eye, as did – what I assume are – boot scrapers on both sides of the door

I don’t even remember many of the buildings themselves … just their doors.

2016-u-of-t

2016 – University of Toronto.  Apparently an emergency exit only.  It opens only from the inside.

Another battered old door found in Port Perry, a 45 minute drive away.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The door might be in disrepair, but the window gracing the top with its decorative arch is still gorgeous.  Photo from 2016

This door was attached to a wonderful old building that originally served as the Town Hall, jail, and court house for the Port Perry area. It is now a theatre for the Performing Arts.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lastly, I found this lovely pair of side-by-side doors while strolling through Yorkville last weekend in downtown Toronto.  I really like the transom window on #62 and little faces on the decorative molding under the overhang.

yorkville3

Photo 2017

Thursday Doors is a weekly photo feature hosted by the Head Door Man himself, Norm 2.0.

 

 

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Around Toronto, photography, Random Stuff, Things I Like, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

78 Responses to An Assortment of Doors

  1. I love photos of doors but I never think to take pictures of them. I love wood doors surrounded by stonework! My favorite, the side by side doors. I really like transoms, too!

    Like

  2. Helen Bushe says:

    Fabulous doors. Love the bit about not remembering much about the buildings, just the doors. I so identify with that. Found your blog on Marsha Ingrao’s list. So pleased I did. 😊

    Like

  3. Roxie says:

    love the variety, all are art!

    Like

  4. Great shots, Joanne! Those are not random doors; they are a well thought out, great collection that you knew would get the door crazies salivating!

    Like

  5. reocochran says:

    Ooh, Joanne! I like your variety of doors in the presentation. The battered door and the 1873 town hall door were ones I liked to picture the history and people who had passed through them. The U of T door had a fantastic clear reflection in the pretty window. This door looks well preserved and attractive! 🙂

    Like

  6. Great collection, Joanne. I loved the battered old Port Perry Town Hall door the most!

    Susan A Eames at
    Travel, Fiction and Photos

    Like

  7. Another beautiful set of door photos Joanne!
    I like them all, but particularly the side by side doors.
    Peta

    Like

  8. Norm 2.0 says:

    Terrific selection of doors this week Joanne. That Town Hall one is my fave and if I hadn’t known what the building was used for before I would have guessed some sort of performing arts center anyway so I think it has found it’s true vocation.

    Like

  9. Ally Bean says:

    I like that second door. How cool would that be to walk through each day? Someone needs to rethink the one way use of it. 🙂

    Like

  10. Nice selection of doors. ‘Head Doorman’ made me smile. I think that one might stick 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sue Slaght says:

    The last photo reminds me of fraternal twins. 🙂

    Like

  12. Excellent selection! That second door is wonderful! I also really like the theater bldg.

    Like

  13. Judy says:

    Another beautiful collection! The Port Perry Town Hall was also used in the 50’s through the 60’s by the H.W. Gossard Co., manufacturers of women’s undergarments. We lived in Port Perry at that time and my mom worked at Gossard making brassieres and girdles!

    Like

  14. It’s a great selection of doors! They all have something to love. 🙂 The window on that 1873 Town Hall is spectacular though.

    Like

  15. conspicari says:

    Lovely collection of doors, really like the town hall door. :>)

    Like

  16. I love the battered doors. The boot scrapers are only good if they are used.

    Like

  17. Great gallery, Joanne. I like them all.

    janet

    Like

  18. Doors tell so many stories, they are the very first thing we see when entering a home, I truly think they deserve the importance they are given. Great photos. Hope you are having some warmer weather?

    Like

  19. Donna says:

    You have a wonderful eye for capturing the most intriguing doors, Joanne. I love viewing your Thursday posts!

    Like

  20. Joanne gives good doors.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Heyjude says:

    Some scrumptious doors her Jo. Lovely shapes and that Port Perry building is gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Great doors, Joanne. I love big old wooden doors. I like the transom on #62 too, especially with the tilt. 🙂

    Like

  23. nrhatch says:

    Good collection of doors, Joanne. Which came first . . . you shooting doors on outings or you joining the Thursday door challenge?

    Like

    • Joanne Sisco says:

      Good question. I’ve been noticing doors for a very long time, but I’ve had a camera only for a few years. I started participating in Thursday Doors when I realized I had photos to share.
      Now I’m a run-away train 😉

      Like

  24. Some pretty fabulous Toronto (and area) doors!

    Like

  25. A magnificent selection of doors, Joanne. I especially like the unknown building door (second photo). You sure get around. 😀 🙂

    Like

  26. What beautiful doors! I especially love the one from the University of Toronto. The stone work around it is stunning.

    Like

    • Joanne Sisco says:

      Walking around the U of T grounds is so beautiful. When I was a teenager I didn’t want to go to school in Toronto and choose a much smaller school in a much smaller city. Now I wish I had gone here instead.

      Liked by 1 person

  27. I always look forward to Thursdays, knowing there will be a post from you with more interesting doors.

    Like

  28. joey says:

    That is a beautiful selection. I’m wowed by the Town Hall 1873. Wowed. 🙂

    Like

  29. Dan Antion says:

    I like the wooden doors, even the ones that need some TLC. It seems odd that the two doors on the bottom are so different. I really like the one on the right.

    Like

  30. Phil Ryan says:

    Sorry, Joanne, I couldn’t help but imagine someone lost in Toronto approaching you for directions, and being sent across town, not with ‘left at the lights and right at the library’ but stop at the lights look to your left and there’s a beautiful old Italian door. Well the ornate brass handles are…no come back, I haven’t told you about the delightful decorative carvings of the library’s inner hallway door yet…’ Which is a reflection of how much I enjoy your door posts 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  31. Joe says:

    WOW these are some spectacular doors Joanne 😀 In the first image I believe those are door stops but can also be used for boot scrapers. I love all the detail you achieved in these images, great work.

    Like

  32. Very nice, I especially like the one from the University.

    Like

Leave a Reply

