An Early Morning Fog

I’m sitting here listening to the rain hitting the skylight, putting a question mark on our Canada Day plans this evening.

I’m glad now that I was up very early this morning and decided on the spur of the moment to head downtown.

Strangely, as the morning got brighter, fog started to roll in off of the lake.

Waterfront11

Fog rolling in from the west towards downtown

It’s not something I get to witness very often and I was mesmerized as it slowly engulfed the shore.

Waterfront8

Going …

Waterfront9

… going …

Waterfront12

… barely there …

Waterfront13

Gone.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Around Toronto, Nature, Outdoor Stuff, Things I Like and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

84 Responses to An Early Morning Fog

  1. Grace says:

    Wow. Never seen a fog but looks so out of the world.

    Like

  2. reocochran says:

    I loved the special effects displayed (not by fireworks or cannons rumbling and smoke remaining) but from good ole Mother Nature’s magic fog wand! You did the really beautiful scenery honor in using your camera to record this series. I’m not sure of others commented and hope I may be one of your first ones to say, “I spied Canada’s red flag with white maple leaf, still and somber waiting out the fog!” πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LB says:

    Neat series!

    Like

  4. bikerchick57 says:

    Those are pretty photos, Joanne! I don’t like driving in fog, but I sure love the ambiance of it within photographs.

    Like

  5. wilson295 says:

    hello how are you doing

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely pictures, Joanne. I am lucky enough to see this living in a high rise. I love watching dramatic clouds and sunset lighting up downtown too.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a great series of watching the fog roll in! I love when I have a chance to admire a foggy day πŸ™‚ I hope your Canada Day was amazing!

    Like

  8. I particularly love your photo of the fog rolling in. Very reminiscent of foggy days in San Francisco.
    Peta

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m a big fan on fog, Joanne. We have a lot of it here, and I like the way it clings to the valleys or shore or sits on the sides of mountains. Beautiful photos. I hope your celebration when off without a hitch!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Jackie says:

    Living on Lake Ontario at Humber we are often engulfed in that fog and it is absolutely mesmerizing.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Really great series and story Joanne. We recently had a heat wave that broke records and we all waited and some prayed for the fog to come in. We call it the Marine Layer. It brings much need relief from hot temperatures. It arrived to our joy. Every afternoon lately the fog has rolled in and cools things off. In fact. I was freezing in Marin County last evening!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. JT Twissel says:

    We live on a fog line – in the hot weather it’s a godsend when it rolls over the hills.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Lovely foggy photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Su Leslie says:

    Happy Canada Day, from one ex-colonial to another. I love your photos, and can imagine how cool it was to watch the fog like that.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. daisymae2017 says:

    Finally fog is gone. Marissa Bergen said it when she said Nice capture.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Lynn says:

    A beautiful catch on the camera my friend & totally worth the trip! Hope you had a wonderful Canada Day!

    Like

  17. Ally Bean says:

    Those fog photos are lovely. Maybe not the weather you had in mind for your 150th Canada Day, but pretty nonetheless. Hope your day was great in spite of the weather.

    Like

    • Joanne Sisco says:

      Thanks Ally – I had a lovely day yesterday and the rain gracefully passed over in plenty of time for the evening fireworks.
      Hope your 4th of July celebrations are full of fun!

      Like

  18. Happy Canada Day!! Wish you would trade Presidents with us. Beautiful pictures!

    Like

  19. RuthsArc says:

    Happy Canada Day Joanne. A fun sequence of photos capturing the fog. Enjoy your 150th celebrations πŸ™‚

    Like

  20. jilldennison says:

    Happy Canada Day!!! Happy 150th Birthday!!!

    Like

  21. nrhatch says:

    Loved the fog rolling in. Great share.
    Happy Canada Day ~ here’s to the next 150 years!

    Like

    • Joanne Sisco says:

      I love fog … that ethereal, otherwordly aspect. I live far enough from the lake that I don’t see it very often.

      I hope we continue to be good trusted neighbours to each other in the next century and a half πŸ™‚

      Like

  22. Tippy Gnu says:

    That last shot looks like something out of an oil painting. Beautiful. And Happy Sesquicentennial!

    Like

  23. de Wets Wild says:

    Mist can be so beautiful, and at other times downright eerie!

    Like

  24. loisajay says:

    I just love watching the fog, and your photos are great, Joanne. Happy Canada Day to you!

    Like

  25. Dan Antion says:

    That’s a great series! It’s so cool to see the tower engulfed.

    Like

    • Joanne Sisco says:

      Poor Dan! I found you in my spam folder. What were you looking for in there, anyway? It’s not where I store the liquor πŸ˜‰

      Glad you enjoyed the post. I was pretty impressed watching the CN Tower play peek-a-boo in the fog πŸ™‚
      Since then we’ve had glorious sunshine and warm temperatures. Yay! It feels like summer!

      Liked by 1 person

  26. Lovely series and happy Canada Day, Joanne.

    janet

    Like

  27. Happy Canada Day!

    I used to think the best time to take pictures was when it was bright and sunny. Now, I much prefer an “interesting” sky with clouds, mist, and fog. Nice pictures!

    Like

  28. I love fog ever since I was a little kid. It’s fascinating how it swallows all. You took some great pictures.

    Like

  29. Donna says:

    Wow! These truly are incredible photos, Joanne! Wishing you a very happy Canada Day!

    Like

  30. N. N. Light says:

    Happy Canada Day, Joanne! We’re staying at home and having a party. It rained earlier but now the sun’s out. πŸ™‚ Lovely pictures!

    Like

    • Joanne Sisco says:

      Happy Canada Day Weekend to you too!! Hope you had a lot of fun with your party. Yesterday was all about Gilles and I. Today is party day with the family. I’m looking forward to it. Chaos should reign here shortly! πŸ™‚

      Like

  31. Heyjude says:

    Lovely photos. We had the same experience here this evening, the hill behind Alice slowly disappeared, but since this happens almost every week it’s not that unusual. To see the CN tower disappear like that is magical πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Joanne Sisco says:

      I guess if you get a lot of fog, it doesn’t feel very special. I’m far enough from the lake that I don’t normally get to experience this.
      The CN Tower is one of those landmarks that I have a tendency to take for granted – until it starts playing peek-a-boo πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  32. joey says:

    Lovely. Thank you for sharing. We only get fog here in spring and fall.

    Like

  33. So much damp and grey! Same up here. At least the rain held off until after the Canada Day parade.

    Like

  34. Phil Taylor says:

    I love a good Fog! Great pics! Now that the late afternoon storm has passed O hope you can enjoy your plans

    Like

    • Joanne Sisco says:

      Me too! I love fog and I’m quite happy with the results of my first attempt to actually photograph it.
      The fireworks were great last night, and today we party with the family.
      I hope you are having a great long 4th of July weekend too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

