L = Louisville, Kentucky

So many of our trips have been focused around a race and 2011 was no exception.  This time Gilles’ race of choice was Ironman Louisville and so off  we went to Kentucky.

Louisville remains the place where I enjoyed myself the most as a spectator. I was able to easily walk everywhere, there were bridges in abundance (I really like bridges) … and bourbon.

It is here I discovered the joys of a fine bourbon.

L = Louisville2

L = Louisville

The city’s whiskey heritage was apparent in many discreet and not so discreet ways. I thought Whiskey Row had a rather nice ring to it as an address.

L= Louisville 3 L= Louisville 4

This city was friendly and welcoming to its visitors for this major race weekend … and in my opinion, they have the loudest and liveliest finish line in the sport, located at Fourth Street Live.

L= Louisville 5

L

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2016, Memories, photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to L = Louisville, Kentucky

  1. reocochran says:

    My youngest, Felicia, graduated from UD and her best friend Erin, came from Louisville KY and she ended up being her roommate for 3 years. Felicia moved upon graduation down to live in Louisville and I enjoyed the river front activities and almost like Cleveland “Flats” area with jazz and bands playing in many night clubs. Beautiful and fun, Joanne!

    Like

  2. LB says:

    I need to get to Louisville! For that bridge, if nothing else 🙂

    Like

  3. germac4 says:

    Thanks for the tour of Louisville it is nice to see new places, especially places you can walk around…and get good beer on a hot day!

    Like

  4. boristoronto says:

    I too love bourbon and bridges. I just try and never mix the two at the same time, it might be hazardous to one’s health.

    Like

  5. I’m not much of a bourbon drinker, but I do love bridges!

    Like

  6. joey says:

    Bourbon.
    I say Mmmmhm, Amen. Louisville is a place I love and my husband doesn’t. Somethin wrong with him. Prolly needs mo’ bourbon.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Corina says:

    It sound like a neat place to visit. Bourbon! Wow, I could do a bourbon tasting tour!

    Like

  8. Sue Slaght says:

    It’s beautiful Joanne! I don’t think I have ever seen a photo of Louisville. Looking forward to seeing you on Saturday!

    Like

  9. Now here’s a place I never would’ve thought to find you…..well, till I heard about the bourbon anyway……. 🙂

    Like

  10. jan says:

    Funny, I’ve never associated Louisville with Iron Man races! Ah well, live and learn.

    Like

  11. I.L. Wolf says:

    I’ve been to Louisville, though very briefly…it’s a very pretty little city! I can’t drink whiskey because I’m prone to migraines, but it’s interesting to see the history nonetheless 🙂

    Like

  12. Barbed Words says:

    Bourbon and bridges – what a great combo! (Also, what a great name for my next soft-rock album …!!)

    Like

  13. Kathe W. says:

    we love walking over bridges too- looks like a very nice city.

    Like

  14. Ally Bean says:

    I liked Louisville, too. Wouldn’t mind retiring there… and no, that’s not just the bourbon talking. 🙂

    Like

  15. Looks like a good place to party!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Tippy Gnu says:

    I’m surprised there are no panhandlers standing outside of Whiskey Row. But maybe they’re all down at Skid Row.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Lynn says:

    Our friend’s daughter attends school in Louisville. Although I have never been, it looks like a lovely spot to visit!

    Like

  18. bikerchick57 says:

    I’ve driven through Louisville several times, on the way to Nashville and Florida, but never had the opportunity to stop and explore. One of the events that I have always wanted to attend is “Thunder Over Louisville.” I’ve heard of it and watched a few videos on YouTube, but I would love to experience this in person. I bet it’s the coolest thing ever.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thunder_Over_Louisville

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I heard of this!
      There were fireworks every night we were in Louisville leading up to the race on Sunday. When I was commenting on it one day in one of the local stores, the sales person told me about the build up to Derby week – although she didn’t give it a name.
      What I experienced in August was apparently “nothing” compared to the April event!

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Joe says:

    Great shots Joanne 🙂 Bourbon, now you’re talking my language !

    Like

  20. Such an interesting way to have traveled over the years – through races and other physically challenging activities.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It was a very deliberate decision.
      We knew we wanted to make travel a very important part of our lives and being physically active also became very important to us as the boys grew up … so we combined the two!
      No regrets 🙂

      Like

  21. RuthsArc says:

    Definitely a great address. And nice bridges.

    Like

  22. Dan Antion says:

    Bourbon and bridges – sounds like a winning combination to me !

    Like

  23. I’m with you on the joy of fine bourbon …. I discovered Mint Juleps in Vicksburg – Mississippi and I remember that first time over 10 years ago like it was yesterday. I have never been to Kentucky, you have got me wanting to plan a trip to the south!

    Like

  24. Heyjude says:

    now there’s an address my OH would love to have!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      You know when you pass big country estates that have been given a name? I’ve often pondered what I would want to call my estate … because surely someday I will have one 😉
      I think Whiskey Estates sounds like a perfectly good name 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  25. Damn. Why couldn’t have been L= Lexington, Kentucky so I could say “Ooh! I used to live there!”?

    Like

Leave a Reply

